Furniture Makeover

3 Oct

So, awhile back I went to our local Restore just to check things out and see what it’s all about. Low and behold I found something interesting, two matching dressers!

My apologies for the low quality photos they were quick shots from my phone. Anyway, both of these together cost $150 and they were in great condition. The gold and the dark brown had to go though. First things first was removing the hardware and stripping the wood.

We then used the strong primer Kilz to try and cover up the knots. After that had dried we used a grey based primer.  We had planned to distress these and I wanted a dark grey to show through. I loved the color and I was tempted to keep the dressers grey.

Next onto the last coat of paint.  I picked Linen White from Benjamin Moore for the final color.

Onto the distressing. Now, this is my first time redoing furniture so this part was really trial and error. I used 120-grain sand paper. I sanded mostly where the wood would weather naturally like on the corners and around the handles where fingers would wear away the paint. We then added the new hardware from Lowes. Here is how they turned out.

4 Responses to “Furniture Makeover”

  1. Pam October 3, 2012 at 1:30 PM #

    Looks good!

  2. arzea October 3, 2012 at 2:48 PM #

    These came out really nice, but I agree that I think chalk paint would have helped you a TON here!!! Definitely covers well and gets the job done easily. I love the outcome though!

    • Le Chic Elefant October 3, 2012 at 4:07 PM #

      Yes I want to try it for my next painting project! It’s just Annie Sloan right?

      • arzea October 3, 2012 at 4:12 PM #

        Yes, I used ASCP, but i think there are a couple other brands too…

Leave a comment